## MTSU Steel Pan Ensemble

# featuring Dr. Chris Tanner, lead pan

Lalo Davila and Brian Mueller, directors

Monday April 8, 2024: Hinton Hall

### 5:00 Band

Bullfrog Christian Kilgore (b. 2000)

Fiesta De Sueños Joshua Garrett (b. 1988)

Don't Dread the 'Nati Chris Tanner (b. 1970)

Cha Cha Charlie Chris Tanner

London is the Place for Me Lord Kitchener (1922-2000)

arr. Chris Tanner

Here Comes Trouble Chris Tanner

7:00 **Band** 

Flag Woman Lord Kitchener

arr. Chris Tanner

In Sync With You Ray Holman (b. 1944)

Anoche Chris Tanner

Voando Alto Chris Tanner

Fire and Steel Mark Loquan (b. 1960)

Unfinished Business Chris Tanner

Made possible by a generous grant from the Distinguished Lecture Fund.

## Personnel



Chris Tanner is the founder and director of the Miami University Steel Band. He is the author of *The Steel Band Game Plan:* Strategies for Starting, Building and Maintaining Your Pan Program, a comprehensive resource covering all fundamental topics relating to the development of a steel band program, and the first of its kind to be published through a major firm. In 2011 he released his debut recording of original music for steel band and jazz soloists, titled *First Impression*. He has served as a guest clinician or performing artist at numerous festivals, workshops, high schools and universities. He is a frequently commissioned composer/arranger, and his works are published through Pan Ramajay Productions, Engine Room Publishing, and Panyard, Inc.

The Miami University Steel Band has appeared on three occasions at the prestigious Percussive Arts Society International Convention, and has also twice headlined the annual PANorama Music Festival in Virginia Beach, VA. The ensemble has released five studio recordings since 2001, all produced and distributed by Pan Ramajay Productions.

Tanner serves as President and is a founding member of the National Society of Steel Band Educators (NSSBE), a non-profit organization created in 2016, dedicated to advancing steel band education in the United States. He served as Chair of the Department of Music from 2017-2023.

#### 5:00 Band

Jackson Alford Kiefer Burks Ethan Christian Mathias Dennis Jill Dillehay Joseph Flores Ani Heng Christian Kilgore Jacob Martin Austin Mellen Andrew Oblak Tyler Ray Brady Romano Paul West

#### 7:00 Band

Jill Dillehay
Josue Garza
Jonah Jaisen
Isabelle Kailing
Christian Kilgore
Ava Olsen
Austin Mellen
Aaron Meng
Stuart McMullen
Jared Quillosa
Tyler Ray
Sophia Suante
Paul West





